Site Content


Kristi Verbeke

Interim Executive Director

Kristi joined the TLC Wake Forest staff in 2012. Prior to coming to Wake Forest, she worked for Wayne State University’s Office for Teaching and Learning in Detroit, MI for over 10 years and served as the Acting Director for 5 years. Kristi’s educational background is in Psychology (B.S.) and Instructional Technology (Ph.D. and M.Ed). She has taught several classes in both Psychology and Education, both at the graduate and undergraduate level. She has also taught fully online courses.

Kristi loves to explore all aspects of teaching and learning, but especially enjoys helping faculty integrate more active/engaging strategies, technology, and metacognition into their courses.

Contact Kristi at 336-758-2308 or

Anita McCauley

Assistant Director for STEM Initiatives

Anita McCauley is the TLC’s Assistant Director for STEM Initiatives. She graduated from Wake Forest with a degree in neurobiology. Anita started her career as the director of microscopy, a position she held for 10 years and has been teaching both graduate and undergraduate courses on the Reynolda and Medical Center campuses since 1998. She works with faculty across the campus to enhance teaching and learning in STEM classes.

Contact Anita at 336.758.3909 or

Deborah W. Snyder

Administrative Coordinator

Deborah Snyder has been the Administrative Coordinator of the Teaching and Learning Center since 2001.  She earned a B.A. from Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana, and an M.L.I.S. from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Contact Deborah at 336-758-4587 or

2017-2018 TLC Faculty Fellows

Eric M. Ekstrand

Eric M. Ekstrand



Eric M. Ekstrand, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of English



Elisabeth Whitehead

Elisabeth Whitehead



Elisabeth Whitehead, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of English

2017-2018 TLC Committee

Emily Austin, Philosophy, Division I (Term ends 2018)

Scott Baker, Education, Division IV (Term ends 2020)

Lynn Book, Theatre and Dance, Division III (Term ends 2020)

Christopher Copeland, School of Divinity (Term ends 2019)

Amanda Foster, ZSR Library (Term ends 2020)

Adam Friedman, Education

Alyssa Howards, German and Russian, Division II (Chairperson) (Term ends 2018)

Amanda Jones, Biology, Division V (Term ends 2018)

Bradley Jones, Dean of the Graduate School, Reynolda Campus, and
Professor of Chemistry

Anthony Marsh, Undergraduate College

Jonathan Pinder, Schools of Business

Kristi Verbeke, Teaching and Learning Collaborative